Farm attack victim thought his time had come

June 16 2006 at 12:30PM

By Janine du Plessis

When armed men stormed Andries Benadé’s farm, the thought ran through his mind that the previous owner and his son had been killed in a similar attack six years ago.

Benadé, who was home with his wife and two teenage grandchildren, is recovering in hospital from two gunshot wounds and various other injuries. He spoke quietly about what happened on Tuesday night, convinced the attack was not “an ordinary robbery”.

The men were armed with an R4 and an R1 assault rifle during the attack at his smallholding in Cullinan.

‘I hit him hard with the knobkerrie’

Benadé claims the men wanted to “finish” him off and not only rob them.

His wife Maretha, and two grandchildren, aged 17, were unharmed in the incident.

Benadé told the Pretoria News: “The dog barking woke me up and I heard someone outside. I got up to switch off all the lights in the house. The two men came to my bedroom window at that time. I woke my wife and told her to get out and just as we moved they broke the window with the back of a gun and fired a shot.

“I told my granddaughter to lie very still on the other side of the bed because they wouldn’t have been able to see us. They tried to open the door by kicking it and hammering it, but they gave up and went to the kitchen door. My grandson later said it didn’t look like it had been forced open, but that they had used a key.

“It was then that I grabbed my knobkerrie and ran to the kids’ room (near the kitchen). I found my wife in the passage and told her to call the police and hide.

“It was not a robbery. They came there specifically to shoot me. They shouted at the door that I must open it or they would kill everyone.

“When the first man came through the kitchen, I hit him hard with the knobkerrie and it made him fall back. Then the second man came through. I tried to swing at him but he knew I was there. There was a struggle and I was shot. The first bullet from the R1 went through my right elbow. The second from the R4 hit me in the left calf. My legs were broken.

“I shouted to my wife to let her know I was shot. One of them shoved me with his foot to see if I was dead,” said Benadé.

He said he then realised it was not just a robbery. “They said: ‘don’t worry, he is dead; our duty here is done’. I pretended to be dead. I was in much pain but couldn’t make a sound.

“They grabbed my granddaughter and demanded she get the car keys. They demanded she start the car for them and as she was trying to do so members of the Community Safety Police Forum arrived.

No arrests have been made.

This article was originally published on page 2 of Pretoria News on June 16, 2006

Source:IOL
http://www.int.iol.co.za/index.php?set_id=1&click_id=15&art_id=vn20060616083004410C120043

Leave a Reply

